Home arrow NewsBreak arrow SACS Team Interviewing in Montgomery Co
SACS Team Interviewing in Montgomery Co
Tuesday, 07 June 2011

June 7--  A four-member review team from the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) spent Tuesday interviewing a wide variety of people as it investigates the Montgomery County school system.

The visit is in response to complaints regarding personnel and policy decisions by the school board and other allegations regarding the conduct of school board chairwoman Deloris James in opposing a school tax for new school construction.

According to the team schedule, it met with Superintendent Randy Rodgers Monday afternoon and spent Tuesday morning with school board members and talking with a group of community members.

Tuesday afternoon it talked with faculty members and by phone with former school superintendent Dr. Charles Warnock.  When Warnock resigned, he said "some board members seem too personally and politically motivated."

The team also talked with school administrators including high school principal Luke Smith whose contract was not renewed by the school board prompting demonstrations by students at the high school.  Smith is considering legal action against the board.

Other interviews were scheduled with former school superintendent Dale Clark whose education credentials were revoked by the Georgia Professional Standards Commission and her pastor, Reverend Adrian Bell, who heads a group called "Kids First Montgomery" which formed in reaction to school board decisons earlier this year.

Also scheduled were former payroll clerk Patricia Adams, departing Admin Services Director Ericka Clark and a group of parents.

A spokesperson for SACS says the review team's report will be forwarded to the school system within 30 to 45 days after it departs Montgomery County Wednesday.

                                    WHO WAS ON THE SACCS SCHEDULE

Monday, 5 pm:  School Superintendent Randy Rodgers

Tuesday, 8:30 am:  Jackson Posey, BOE

             9:00 am:  Charlie Robison, BOE

             9:30 am:  Dr. Jim Paul Poole, BOE

           10:15 am:  Lendle Hamilton, BOE

           10:45 am:  Deloris James, BOE Chairperson

           11:15 am:  Community members Susan Beard, Calvin Burns, Joey Fountain, Brandon Braddy, Rev. Karl Hay, Loretta Lane, Frank Brantley, Alan Morris, Joe Filippone, Colon Sammons and Loyd Moses.

           12:45 pm:  Elementary school faculty members Debra Gay, Debbie Morris, Lisa Bishop, Chelia White, Mae Mills, Robins Mills and Tim Suttles.

Middle school faculty members Donald Parker, Janeth Coleman, Sheila Braddy and Melissa Parker.

High school faculty members Jon Milligan, Rita Curl, Greg Busby and Debra Adams.

           1:15 pm:  Dr. Charles Warnock, former interim superintendent (via phone)

          1:45 pm:  Administrators Luke Smith, Dr. Marvin Howard, Dr. Tosha Middlebrooks and Brittany Deen.

         2:30 pm:  Rev Adrian Bell and Dale Clark, former superintendent.

         3:00 pm:  Patricia Adams, Jan Outler and Ericka Clark.

        3:30 pm:  Parents Ginger Morris, Donnie Horton, Kim Oglesby, Henry Price, Colon Horne, Candy Hardeman, Tracy Braddy, Deondra Davis and Jennifer Conner. 


< Prev   Next >

Copyright © 2014 Southeast Georgia Today Web Portal
This Site is Best Viewed with Screen Resolution of 1024 X 768 Pixels
Website Design & Hosting by Red Wheeler Associates, LLC