Home arrow NewsBreak arrow 2009 Archives arrow 21 Area Schools Recognized
21 Area Schools Recognized
Wednesday, 04 November 2009
November 4, 2009 -- State Superintendent of Schools Kathy Cox officially named Georgia's four Title I Distinguished Districts, two National Title I Distinguished Schools and 896 Georgia Title I Distinguished Schools today at the State Board of Education meeting.
    Twenty-one of the schools are in this area and include schools in Vidalia, Toombs, Montgomery, Treutlen and Wheeler counties.
   "These districts and schools are a prime example of the impact high expectations, hard work and collaboration can have on student achievement," Superintendent Cox said. "I'm thrilled to recognize the educators, students and parents in these schools and school districts."
   Title I schools have a significant population of students who are economically disadvantaged and receive federal money to assist with the education of these students. The two National Title I Distinguished Schools are among the total 896 Georgia Title I Distinguished Schools.
Title I Distinguished Schools have made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) at least three years in a row.
   "These 896 schools don't accept excuses," Superintendent Cox said.
"There are high standards for students and high expectations for teachers.
These schools are focused and determined -- and they are getting results."

   Title I Distinguished Schools that have made AYP for three consecutive years are awarded a certificate, while those who have made AYP four or more years receive a monetary award, paid for out of federal funds.
   The number of Title I Distinguished Schools has grown significantly since 2003, when 116 schools were recognized.

   The Title I Distinguished District award is given to four school systems in four different size categories -- Large District, Medium District, Small District and Very Small District. The awarded districts have closed the achievement gap the most between economically disadvantaged students and students who are not economically disadvantaged in each category. The results of the reading, English language arts and mathematics portions of the Criterion-Referenced Competency Test (CRCT) and the Georgia High School Graduation Test (GHSGT) are used to determine achievement.
   The 2009 Title I Distinguished Districts are:
     - Large District: Henry County
     - Medium: Marietta City
     - Small District: Brooks County
     - Very Small District: Chattahoochee County
   The winning districts will each receive $50,000 from federal funds.

   The National Title I Distinguished Schools program recognizes two schools that receive Title I funding. One school is recognized for closing the achievement gap between economically disadvantaged students and students that are not economically disadvantaged. The other school is recognized for exceeding the benchmarks required to make AYP. The CRCT and GHSGT results in reading, English language arts and mathematics are used to determine the winning schools.
   The two National Title I Distinguished Schools are:
     - Closing the Gap: Echols County Schools (9-12), Echols County
     - Meets and Exceeds Performance: Gainesville High School, Gainesville City
   Each of these schools will receive $15,000 in federal funds.

List of 2009 Georgia Title I Distinguished Schools in this area.
School Name FY10 Monetary
 Appling County Altamaha Elementary School  $712
 Appling County Fourth District Elementary School   $1,068
 Jeff Davis County Jeff Davis Elementary School   $712
 Treutlen County Treutlen Elementary School  $1,068
Appling County Appling County Elementary School   Certificate
Appling County Appling County Middle School  $712
Appling County Appling County Primary School   $1,068
Emanuel County Adrian School of Performing Arts   $712
Emanuel County Swainsboro Primary School   $1,424
Emanuel County Twin City Elementary School   $712
Jeff Davis County Jeff Davis High School   $712
Jeff Davis County Jeff Davis Primary School  $712
Montgomery County  Montgomery County Elem School   $1,068
Tattnall County Collins Middle School  $712
Tattnall County Glennville Middle School   $712
Tattnall County Reidsville Elementary School   $712
Tattnall County Reidsville Middle School  $712
Toombs County Lyons Primary School   $7,848
Toombs County Toombs Central Elementary School   $1,068
Vidalia City J. R. Trippe Middle School   $712
Wheeler County Wheeler County Elementary School   $712
< Prev   Next >

Copyright © 2014 Southeast Georgia Today Web Portal
This Site is Best Viewed with Screen Resolution of 1024 X 768 Pixels
Website Design & Hosting by Red Wheeler Associates, LLC