Home arrow NewsBreak arrow Municipal Election Qualifiers
Municipal Election Qualifiers
Thursday, 10 September 2009

September 10--  There are only four contested races reported so far in area city elections scheduled for Tuesday, November 3rd.

In Lyons, Ward 2 councilman Ben Mitchell is challenged by Alfred Cason.  Incumbent council members Tracey Johnson and Wayne Hartley are unopposed.

In Soperton, District 4 councilman Bobby Joe Moxley faces opposition from Carvin Coleman and Royce Fowler.  L.G. Strickland is unopposed in District 1 while Isabella Daigle-Powell has qualified to run for the District 3 seat being vacated by Wade Clark.

In Uvalda, Martin Moses will face Paul Bridges in the mayor's race.  Four people have qualified to run for three at-large seats on the Uvalda city council.  They include Jeffrey Dopson and incumbents Martha Jackson, Austin Morris and Lloyd Moses.

Qualification will open Monday and close Wednesday at noon in Uvalda for a special election to fill the unexpired city council term of Martin Moses.  The special election will be held in conjunction with the November 3rd general election.

In Mount Vernon, incumbents Craig Snead and Rosemary Russell are unopposed for re-election and Harold Quarterman has qualfied for the third at-large seat on the city council.

There are no contested races in Vidalia for either the mayor, city council or school board.  Running unopposed are Mayor Ronnie Dixon, city councilmen Eddie Tyson and Cecil Thompson, and school board members Hal Chesser and Tim Truxel.

< Prev   Next >

Copyright © 2014 Southeast Georgia Today Web Portal
This Site is Best Viewed with Screen Resolution of 1024 X 768 Pixels
Website Design & Hosting by Red Wheeler Associates, LLC