Home arrow NewsBreak arrow 2009 Archives arrow Georgia Supreme Court Nominees
Georgia Supreme Court Nominees
Wednesday, 01 July 2009

July 1-- Governor Sonny Perdue’s Judicial Nominating Commission (JNC) has submitted recommendations to fill the vacancy on the Supreme Court of Georgia. The vacancy on the court was created by the resignation of Chief Justice Leah Ward Sears.

“I appreciate the significant amount of time and effort JNC members put into this process,” Governor Perdue said. “I look forward to meeting with each of the nominees individually and making a selection to the state’s highest court.”

The JNC submitted the following recommendations to fill the vacancy (listed in alphabetical order):

·        Stephen Louis A. Dillard – Of Counsel, James, Bates, Pope & Spivey; Macon

·        James P. Kelly III – Managing partner of Kelly Law Firm; Atlanta

·        David E. Nahmias – U.S. Attorney; Northern District of Georgia

·        Samuel D. Ozburn –Superior Court Judge; Alcovy Judicial Circuit

·        William M. Ray II – Superior Court Judge; Gwinnett County

·        Craig L. Schwall Sr. – Superior Court Judge; Fulton County

·        Mary E. Staley – Superior Court Judge; Cobb County

·        Benjamin W. Studdard III – State Court Chief Judge; Henry County

·        Rocco E. Testani – Partner, Sutherland Asbill & Brennan; Atlanta

< Prev   Next >

Copyright © 2014 Southeast Georgia Today Web Portal
This Site is Best Viewed with Screen Resolution of 1024 X 768 Pixels
Website Design & Hosting by Red Wheeler Associates, LLC