Home arrow NewsBreak arrow Candidates Qualify

Candidates Qualify
Friday, 07 March 2014

March 7--  There are only a few contested county races in the local area in the May 20 primary election.

When qualifying closed Friday, longtime Toombs County Commissioner Roy Lee Williams did not qualify and will be succeeded by Alfred Cason who is unopposed in District One.  Incumbent District Four Commissioner Jeff McCormick is also unopposed.

Toombs County Board of Educatin Chairman Daniel Caraway is being opposed by Lyons businessman Clint Williams and District Three board member Rahn Milligan is opposed by Mitch Bellflower.  District One member Russ Benton and District Five member Jonathan Holland have no opposition.

In Montgomery County, three people are vying for the Montgomery County Commission seat held by Uvalda Commissioner John Carpenter.  Uvalda Police Chief Lewis Smith and Jay Murray are running in the Republican primary and Leland Adams is unopposed in the Democratic primary.  Commissioner Clarence Thomas has no opposition for the District Three, Post Two seat.

Montgomery County Board of Education Chairman Jim Paul Poole has opposition from Ben Clark, son of Dale Clark, the former Montgomery County school superintendent.  Board of Education member Charley Robison has no opposition for the District Three, Post Two seat and county Magistrate Mona Bell is unopposed.

There are two contested races in Treutlen County.

District Five County Commissioner Cashaunda Smith is opposed by Van Harris and the District Five Board of Education member, Demetria Noble, will face Ronald Baker.

District Two County Commissioner Hugh Brantley did not qualify for re-election and will be succeeded by Forrest Edge. District Three school board member Alvin Heath has no opposition.

In the race for State Representative in House District 156, incumbent Greg Morris will face former Navy SEAL Lee Burton in the Republican primary.

State Senator Tommie Williams of Lyons has no opposition in the 19th Senatorial District and neither does Superior Court Judge Bobby Reeves in the Middle Judicial Circuit.

In the 12th Congressional District, five Republican candidates qualfied for a chance to unseat Democrat John Barrow.  They are State Representative Delvis Dutton of Glennville, Diane Van of Macon and three Augusta residents: Rick Allen, John Stone and Eugene Yu.  


< Prev   Next >

Copyright © 2015 Southeast Georgia Today Web Portal
This Site is Best Viewed with Screen Resolution of 1024 X 768 Pixels
Website Design & Hosting by Red Wheeler Associates, LLC