Home arrow NewsBreak arrow 2009 Archives arrow Governor Names Regional Water Council
Governor Names Regional Water Council
Thursday, 12 February 2009

February 12 – Governor Sonny Perdue, Lt. Governor Casey Cagle and Speaker of the House Glenn Richardson announced today their selections for members of Georgia’s regional water planning councils, which will have a key role in the statewide water planning process.

“The individuals we have selected are solution-oriented and will provide visionary water resource planning,” said Governor Perdue. “These appointments reflect a diverse group of Georgians and each one has a unique skill set and knowledge base, which will allow the councils to focus on water resource issues while also addressing the state’s economic needs.”

The Comprehensive Statewide Water Management Plan, approved by the General Assembly in 2008, created ten water planning regions. Each of these regions will have a water planning council to represent the water interests unique to their respective regions.

“Water will remain a key issue for our state and I am very pleased with the group of individuals selected to move forward with a responsible, long-term plan,” said Lt. Governor Cagle. “This list includes well-rounded men and women who expand across industries and regions.  It was an honor to work so closely with Governor Perdue and Speaker Richardson on these nominations and the Comprehensive Statewide Water Management Plan.”

Each council consists of 25 members, three alternates and an ex-officio member from both the House and Senate. The councils include representatives from agriculture, forestry, industry, commerce, local governments, water utilities, regional development centers, tourism, recreation and environmental groups.

“The appointments named today represent Georgians with the right experience and background to serve their region’s water needs,” said Speaker Richardson. “Their service will ensure our water resources are used prudently as we continue to implement water planning and conservation strategies.”

The councils will oversee preparation of regional water development and conservation plans for their planning regions. These plans will focus on both water quantity and water quality issues, and will include forecasts of future water supply and wastewater treatment needs.

Under requirements of the plan, the Governor selects 13 members of each council. In addition, the Governor selects one alternate member who will attend all meetings and vote if needed to establish a quorum.  The Lieutenant Governor and the Speaker of the Georgia House of Representatives select the remaining council members including non-voting ex officio members from the Senate and the House.

A list of the appointments is below and a map of the water planning regions is at www.georgiawaterplanning.org .


Name                                      City                             County

Mike Polski                              Cochran                       Bleckley

Brinson Lanier                          Metter                          Candler

Cleve Edenfield                        Swainsboro                  Emanuel

Gary Bell                                  Claxton                        Evans

James Mark Burns                    Tarrytown                    Montgomery

James E. Strickland                  Glennville                      Tattnall

Sue Sammons                           Lumber City                 Telfair

Dent L. Temples                       Lyons                           Toombs

Lindsay Thomas                       Screven                        Wayne

Edward S. Jeffords                   Jesup                            Wayne

Larry Windham                        Glenwood                    Wheeler

Guy Rex Bullock                      Pitts                              Wilcox

William G. Tomberlin                Abbeville                      Wilcox

Greg Wolff                               Metter                          Candler

Doug Sharp                              Jesup                            Wayne

Jim Free                                   Swainsboro                  Emanuel

Russ Yeomans                          Swainsboro                  Emanuel

Michael Williams                      Cochran                       Bleckley

Buddy Pittman                          Eastman                       Dodge

Randy Giddens                         Eastman                       Dodge

Dan McCranie                          Eastman                       Dodge

Steve Meeks                            Kite                              Johnson

John Roller                               Mount Vernon              Montgomery

Phillip Jennings                          Soperton                      Treutlen

Len Hauss                                Jesup                            Wayne

Alternate Paul Stavriotis           Glennville                      Tattnall

Alternate Randy Branch           Baxley                          Appling

Alternate Gerald DeWitt          Jesup                            Wayne

Ex-Officio Rep. Greg Morris

Ex-Officio Sen. Tommie Williams


< Prev   Next >

Copyright © 2014 Southeast Georgia Today Web Portal
This Site is Best Viewed with Screen Resolution of 1024 X 768 Pixels
Website Design & Hosting by Red Wheeler Associates, LLC