Home arrow NewsBreak arrow Montgomery Commissioners Meet With Mayors
Montgomery Commissioners Meet With Mayors
Wednesday, 02 October 2013

October 2--  Montgomery County commissioners and mayors from the county's six towns met Monday night and agreed on distribution of future sales tax proceeds.

Assuming voters approve collection of a one percent special purpose local option sales tax at the polls in 2014, the governments plan to use the same distribution formula as is currently in effect during a six-year period starting in 2015.

Montgomery County:  54.18%

Mount Vernon:  25.56%

Uvalda:  6.55%

Ailey:  6.03%

Higgston:  3.54%

Alston:  1.74%

Tarrytown:  .98%

Vidalia:  1.42%

Officials also discussed the need to develop a multi-year budget to fund a county recreation program.  The commission said it would provide $15,000 and Mount Vernon Mayor Joey Fountain said he thought the city could provide $10,000.  The other mayors were asked to seek approval from their city councils for annual funding of $5,000.

The program is conducted by the county school system.  Superintendent Randy Rodgers said an annual budget of $50,000 is needed for operations.

< Prev   Next >

Copyright © 2014 Southeast Georgia Today Web Portal
This Site is Best Viewed with Screen Resolution of 1024 X 768 Pixels
Website Design & Hosting by Red Wheeler Associates, LLC