Home arrow NewsBreak arrow Vidalia Onion Committee Officers Elected
Vidalia Onion Committee Officers Elected
Tuesday, 20 January 2009

January 20--  Michael Hively, COO/CFO of Bland Farms, LLC, Glennville, GA, will assume chairmanship of the Vidalia® Onion Committee (VOC), the nonprofit organization responsible for national marketing efforts on behalf of Vidalia onion growers and packers.  Bo Herndon, Owner & President of Herndon Farms in Lyons, has been the chairperson the past two years. 

Executive Director Wendy Brannen says, “Bo has been a dedicated chairman and heavily involved with revamping the committee for years now.  He’s put a lot of sweat into making sure everything is on track.  I think now he’s ready and deserves to hand off the reins and maybe enjoy some time on his other farm in New Mexico.”  Of her new chairman, Brannen comments, “Mike Hively has a sharp mind for business.  I’ve been able to work with him on several projects the past couple of years, as he’s been my acting Vice Chair, and I’ve gained a lot of respect for him.   He’s eager to take on this position, and I think we’ll see continued good things out of the committee the next year or so during his tenure.”

Vice Chair will be Brett Williams of Uvalda, GA.  “I’m also excited about Brett coming on board.  Brett’s a young farmer whose family has been in the Vidalia business and who has expressed a personal interest in the industry overall.  We need that second wave of enthusiasm to keep the Vidalia legacy going,” the executive director comments.

Secretary-Treasurer will be Barbara Braddy of Braddy Farms, Mount Vernon, who has served in the same position the past year.

At the VOC’s monthly meeting held on Thursday, January 15, 2009, a representative of the USDA seated the full slate of members, who were chosen during elections held in September, 2008.  The new slate of elected members was approved by the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture.

Members seated were:  Robert Rushing of Register, GA; Ty Powell of Cobbtown, GA; Aries Haygood of Lyons, GA; Brett Williams of Uvalda, GA; Terry Gerrald of Statesboro, GA; Michael Hively of Glennville, GA;  Michael Collins of Collins, GA; Barbara Braddy of Mount Vernon, GA; and Public Member Otha Dixon of Vidalia, GA. 

Alternates seated were:  Delbert Bland of Glennville, GA; Shad Dasher of Glennville, GA; Brian Stanley of Lyons, GA; Charlie Robison of Ailey, GA;  Alan Sikes of Collins, GA; John Shuman of Reidsville, GA Jamie Beasley of Uvalda, GA and Alternate Public Member Senator Jack Hill of Reidsville, GA.  Brett McLain of Lyons, GA, will be seated pending Secretary approval.

The VOC holds monthly meetings on the third Thursday of each month at the committee office located at 100 Vidalia Sweet Onion Drive, Vidalia, GA.

The Vidalia® Onion Committee was established in 1989 as Federal Marketing Order No. 955.  The order authorizes production research, marketing research and development, and marketing promotion programs.  The VOC administers the order locally and consists of eight producer members and their alternates and one public member and an alternate.

More information about the Vidalia® Onion industry may be obtained at VidaliaOnion.org.




< Prev   Next >

Copyright © 2014 Southeast Georgia Today Web Portal
This Site is Best Viewed with Screen Resolution of 1024 X 768 Pixels
Website Design & Hosting by Red Wheeler Associates, LLC